Our People

Pivotal’s Director is Ann Watt. Pivotal’s work is overseen by a Board of Trustees, with guidance from a Reference Group

Dr Jayne Finlay

Research and Engagement Officer

Simon Hamilton

Chief Executive at Belfast Chamber of Trade and Commerce

Courteney McGuigan

Digital Marketing Executive

Dr. Esmond Birnie

Senior Economist, Ulster University Business School.

Clare McAuley

Operations Manager

Professor George Tridimas

Professor of Political Economy at the Ulster Business School.

Dr Joanne Murphy

Interim Director of the William J Clinton Institute, Queens University, Management School

Dr. Muiris MacCarthaigh,

Senior Lecturer in Politics and Public Administration

Professor Deirdre Heenan

Professor of Social Policy, Ulster University.

Professor John Garry

Professor of Political Behaviour

Dr Ben Harper

Research Manager

Neil Gibson

Chief Economist (Ireland), EY

Richard Good

Public policy consultant

Leo Green

PhD researcher, Transitional Justice Institute, Ulster University

Eva Grosman

Director, Centre for Reconciliation and Peace Building

John Hunter

Former Permanent Secretary, Department of Finance

Will Haire

Former Permanent Secretary, Department for Social Development

Robert Hazell

Founder and former Director, Constitution Unit, University College London

Olwen Lyner

Chief Executive, NIACRO

Seamus McAleavey

Chief Executive, Northern Ireland Council for Voluntary Action

Roisin Brown

Works in public sector

John McCallister

Former MLA, South Down

Fergal McFerran

Northern Ireland Client Account Manager, Stonewall UK

Angela McGowan

Director, Confederation of British Industry Northern Ireland

Ann McGregor

Chief Executive, NI Chamber of Commerce and Industry

Brigid McManus

Former Secretary–General, Department of Education and Skills

David Phinnemore

Dean of Education, Queen’s University, Belfast

Trevor Ringland

Partner, Macaulay & Ritchie Solicitors

Lisa Faulkner Byrne

Project Co–ordinator, EPIC

Suneil Sharma


Peter Sheridan

former Assistant Chief Constable, Police Service of Northern Ireland

Ann Watt


Alan Whysall

Honorary Senior Research Associate, Constitution Unit, University College London

Suzanne Wylie

Chief Executive, Belfast City Council

Jessica Caldwell

Outreach Coordinator at Kainos

Eamonn Donaghy

Accountant & tax consultant

Marianne Elliott

Former Director, Institute of Irish Studies, University of Liverpool

Richard English

Pro–Vice–Chancellor, Queen’s University Belfast

George Fergusson

Former UK diplomat

David Gavaghan

Former Chair, Confederation of British Industry Northern Ireland

This site uses cookies for general analytics but not for advertising purposes. View our privacy & cookie policy to find out more. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on our website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time.